Auburn University

One of the largest universities in Alabama, Auburn University is one of three land-grant institutions in the state. Located in Auburn in west-central Lee County, it was chartered by Methodists as East Alabama Male College in 1856 and went through several name changes before becoming Auburn University in 1960. Samford Hall, shown here, is the main administration building and was named for Gov. William J. Samford

Courtesy of the George F. Landegger Collection of Alabama Photographs in Carol M. Highsmith's America, Library of Congress, Prints and Photographs Division