Skip directly to content

Pulitzer Prize Winners of Alabama

The Pulitzer Prize, established in 1917, is one of the top awards for journalists and writers, and it has been awarded to several Alabama authors. Fiction winners include T. S. Stribling for his Depression-era novel The Store, which won in 1933, and Harper Lee for her classic To Kill A Mockingbird, which won in 1960. Natural scientist Edward O. Wilson was awarded a Pulitzer for his book On Human Nature (1978), a study of human behavior and biology. And several journalists, including Cynthia Tucker, and Alabama newspapers, including The Birmingham News and the Montgomery Advertiser, have won Pulitzers for groundbreaking stories on government policy and social ills.