Skip directly to content

James Monroe

James Monroe (1758-1831) was the fifth president of the United States, holding office from 1817-1825. Monroe fought in the American Revolution and served in the Virginia House of Delegates as the federal constitution was being formed. He was a U.S. Senator and minister to France prior to his presidency. Monroe County in Alabama is named in his honor.
Courtesy of Library of Congress